System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008

I recently recently installed Virtual Machine Manager 2008 and I started managing two of my host systems running Hyper-V. One is running Server Core and the other is a full installation.

I did hit a problem that caused me some problems, in the self service portal I was getting an error "Microsoft Hyper-V ActiveX Control failed to install", and no matter what I did it did not seem to install properly.

I finally discovered what was causing my problems. I am running Vista x64 and my browser was the 32bit Internet Explorer, once I switched to the 64bit Internet Explorer everything was fine. I presume the VMM Self Service Portal knew I was on a 64bit Operating System and kept giving me the 64 bit versions and the 32bit browser could not cope with it.

Now I just have to figure out why my Hyper-V cluster won’t be managed by VMM which I was able to manage when I was using the VMM beta. The other thing I am going to have to try and make work is the VMM library working on all my hosts. At the moment I can use the library for the host system that is running the library but I cannot get it to work yet for remote systems. I think it may be something to do with constrained delegation, it was certainly hinted at when I was doing some searches and reading through the VMM forums.

Anyway as I solve the problems (assuming I do :-)) I will do a post in case it may be a help to others.

About Anthony Crotty

An IT Professional, based in Cork in Ireland, working on Microsoft technologies primarily. All views are my own.
This entry was posted in Windows Server 2008. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to System Center Virtual Machine Manager 2008

  1. VSky says:

    Very helpful. Thank you

Leave a comment