Installing a Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V cluster – Part 1

So I decided to have a go at playing with Live Migration, so I moved all the machines off my test Hyper-V cluster. I decided to go with a clean OS install rather than an in place upgrade.

I disconnected all the SAN connections as the Windows Setup was seeing an awful lots of disks because there was multiple paths to my SAN disk due to the lack of MPIO.

It took about 30 minutes to install the operating system on each system, I decided to use Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter Edition. Once the machine was up and running I configured the network interfaces and changed the name on each nodes in the machine.

I then installed the MPIO feature. I then installed the Hyper-V role and waited as it seemed to take a while (maybe the watched server never installs the role).

Install the Failover clustering feature and reconnect all my SAN connections. I was seeing multiple drives installed so I installed the DSM bits from HP for the EVA and rebooted the system. I was now seeing all my presented drives as a single drive.

I checked in the Hyper-V MMC that the network name was the same on both nodes before I proceeded any further. Next I setup my quorum disk, and ran the failover validation tests. The cluster finished building successfully.

Now with the cluster up and running. I enabled the Cluster Shared Volume in the action pane and accept the agreement.

At this stage I presented a LUN from the SAN, got the drive letter the same on all nodes in the cluster and created a virtual machine on the drive on one of the nodes in the cluster. Add the storage for the SAN drive to the cluster, it changed the drive letter but I was able to change it back using an option in the action pane.

So at this stage I had a cluster up and running with Quick Migration, no bother what so ever and in fact it was reasonably quick as I had done all the donkey work when I was trying to figure out how to make this work with Windows Server 2008.

In my next post I will go on to look at Live Migration.

About Anthony Crotty

An IT Professional, based in Cork in Ireland, working on Microsoft technologies primarily. All views are my own.
This entry was posted in Windows Server 2008. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment