CannotAttachISO (11443) error is Self Service Portal

Recently I had to replace the machine that I was using as a VMM Library server. The original library machine was running Windows Server 2008 and I was replacing it with a machine running Windows Server 2008 R2 with the same name.

I removed the SCVMM agent from the old machine before decommissioning it. A few hours after turning off the old machine I installed the SCVMM agent on the new machine.

I tested ISO sharing through the VMM console and it was working fine. All seemed to be ok, until I tried to mount an ISO through the Self Service Portal.

I was getting the error “CannotAttachISO (11443) – Cannot attache the specified ISO to the virtual machine because user role <User Role Name> assoicated with the virtual machine does not have access to the ISO. Contact your VMM administrator to add the library share path for the ISO to user role <User Role Name> or specify a different ISO and then try the operation again.”

 

It was not clear to me what was happening, so in the VMM administrator console I checked out the Self Service Policy in question. I was not able to see anything wrong with the policy but when I tried to mount an ISO again it worked fine.

After further checking I was getting this on multiple Self Service Policies and all I had to do was open the policy in the VMM console and click ok. All the policies started working after that.

About Anthony Crotty

An IT Professional, based in Cork in Ireland, working on Microsoft technologies primarily. All views are my own.
This entry was posted in Virtualization. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment